August 2013

What’s New · Gone Girl Readalikes

Now that you've torn through Gillian Flynn's ingeniously-plotted thriller Gone Girl, what should you read next? Here's a selection of gripping novels of suspense, missing persons, and family secrets from our collection.

Never Look Away

Never Look Away by Linwood Barclay
A family amusement park outing turns into a terrifying nightmare after an inexplicable disappearance.

The Drowing House by Elizabeth Black
A gripping suspense story about a woman who returns to Galveston, Texas after a personal tragedy and is irresistibly drawn into the insular world she’s struggled to leave.

Drowned by Therese Bohman
The lingering tension between a husband and two sisters makes the idyllic setting of the Swedish countryside anything but tranquil.

He's Gone by Deb Caletti
Dani Keller's husband disappears without a trace, forcing her to ask the question: How well do we ever really know our spouses?

The Vanishers

The Vanishers by Heidi Julavits
A wildly imaginative and emotionally intense novel about mothers, daughters, and the psychic damage women can inflict on one another.

The Dinner by Herman Koch
An internationally bestselling phenomenon: the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives -- all over the course of one meal.

Defending Jacob by William Landay
When his son is accused of murdering a fellow student, a respected district attorney struggles to find the truth.

Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton
The thrilling story of a mother who will do anything to protect her child.

Cover of Snow

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman
Searching for an explanation after her husband's suicide, Nora uncovers a powerful conspiracy and dark hidden secrets.

Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggach
A solitary young woman is drawn into an online world run by a charismatic web guru who entices her into impersonating a glamorous but desperate woman.

Heartbroken by Lisa Unger
A tense mesmerizing novel about the limits of dysfunctional families and of an island haunted by dark memories.

Need more Recommendations?

Check out NoveList Plus and Books & Authors, our databases for readers. Or call or stop by your local library and one of our staff members will be happy to assist you!