September 2013

What’s New · The Light Between Oceans Readalikes

Have you just finished M.L. Stedman’s haunting debut novel The Light Between Oceans and are wondering what to read next? Then check out these historical novels chock full of scintillating family secrets and troubling moral dilemmas.

The Sandcastle Girls

The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian
This spellbinding tale travels between Aleppo, Syria, in 1915 and Bronxville, New York, in 2012—a sweeping historical novel about love, loss, and a generations-old secret.

The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin
In her stunningly original debut novel, Amanda Coplin evokes a powerful sense of place as she spins an engrossing tale of a solitary orchardist who provides shelter to two runaway teenage girls, and the dramatic consequences of his actions.

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton
In Morton’s suspenseful novel, teenage Laurel Nicholson witnesses a terrible crime—and spends the next 50 years of her life keeping the secret and wondering why it happened in the first place.

The Clover House

The Clover House by Henriette Lazaridis Power
This stunning debut novel brings to life World War II-era and modern-day Greece—and tells the story of a vibrant family and the tragic secret kept hidden for generations.

The Orchid House by Lucinda Riley
Spanning from the 1930’s to the present day, from the Wharton Park estate in England to Thailand, this sweeping novel tells the tale of a concert pianist and the aristocratic Crawford family, whose shocking secrets are revealed, leading to devastating consequences.

The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan
Set at the beginning of World War I, Rogan’s debut centers around 22-year-old Grace Winter, who survives a harrowing three weeks at sea following the sinking of her ocean liner—only to be put on trial for murder.

Cover of The House I Loved

The House I Loved by Tatiana de Rosnay
From the bestselling author of Sarah’s Key comes an absorbing novel about one woman’s resistance during a time that shook Paris to its very core—and the secret she has kept buried deep in her heart for thirty years.

The Secret of the Nightingale Palace by Dana Sachs
With a narrative that alternates between early 1940’s San Francisco and the present day, The Secret of the Nightingale Palace is a searing portrait of family, betrayal, sacrifice, and forgiveness.

Need more Recommendations?

Check out NoveList Plus and Books & Authors, our databases for readers. Or call or stop by your local library and one of our staff members will be happy to assist you!