June 2014

What’s New · The Silkworm Readalikes

Robert Galbraith’s (aka J.K. Rowling) The Silkworm is being released on June 19th. In this sequel to her bestselling The Cuckoo’s Calling, London PI Cormoran Strike attempts to track down a missing novelist. Can’t wait to pick up your copy? Then check out these British mysteries recently added to our collection!

From the Dead:  A Tom Thorne Novel

From the Dead: A Tom Thorne Novel by Mark Billingham
In the gripping ninth Tom Thorne novel, a man long thought killed by his long-suffering wife turns up alive.

A Dark and Twisted Tide by Sharon Bolton
Sharon Bolton has once again crafted a tightly plotted thriller around one of the most compelling characters in crime fiction today, intensely private London police officer Lacey Flint.

The Stranger You Know by Jane Casey
Detective Constable Maeve Kerrigan returns, this time pursuing a serial killer targeting single women in London.

The Sound of Broken Glass by Deborah Crombie
Scotland Yard detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James are on the case in Crombie’s latest novel, a captivating mystery that blends a murder from the past with a powerful danger in the present.

Waiting for Wednesday: A Frieda Klein Mystery by Nicci French
The thrilling third novel starring London psychotherapist-turned-detective Frieda Klein is a penetrating, twisted novel of murder and neurosis with a jaw-dropping climax.

The Red Road: An Alex Morrow Novel

The Red Road: An Alex Morrow Novel by Denise Mina
Glasgow police detective Alex Morrow faces her toughest opponents yet in this brilliant new thriller about criminals, consequences, and convictions.

Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin
Edinburgh Detective John Rebus and Internal Affairs cop Malcolm Fox go head-to-head when a 30-year-old murder resurfaces, forcing Rebus to confront crimes of the past.

Children of the Revolution: An Inspector Banks Novel by Peter Robinson
Multiple award-winning and bestselling author Peter Robinson returns with Children of the Revolution, a superb tale of mystery and murder that takes acclaimed British Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks back to the early 1970’s—a turbulent time of politics, change, and radical student activism.

Need more Recommendations?

Check out NoveList Plus our database for readers. Or call or stop by your local library and one of our staff members will be happy to assist you!