Books, Music & Movies · The Comfort Food Diaries

cover image of The Comfort Food Diaries

The Comfort Food Diaries:My Quest for the Perfect Dish to Mend a Broken Heart

Emily Nunn

Former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her quest to overcome the sudden death of her brother, being dumped by her fiancée, and leaving the apartment they shared by cooking her way across the country while staying with family and friends. In the salt of a Virginia ham biscuit or the sour tang of her grandmother’s lemon cake, Nunn experienced the healing power of her favorite comfort foods. The result is both a memoir and a mini cookbook, featuring a few dozen recipes for the foods she describes. For fans of I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti (2009).