Books, Music & Movies · A Spoonful of Sugar

cover image of A Spoonful of Sugar

A Spoonful of Sugar:A Nanny's Story

Brenda Ashford

From the moment Brenda Ashford held her baby brother David, she knew a career caring for children was her only calling in life. Formally trained at London’s prestigious Norland Institute, famous for producing top-class nannies, she spent the next 62 years caring for more than 100 children. In this charming memoir, Ashford fondly recalls caring for the pampered children of wealthy aristocrats in manor houses as well as tough East End evacuees removed to the countryside during WWII's Battle of Britain. For fans of Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife.