Books, Music & Movies · Hot Titles

Get a sneak peek at future bestsellers with these exciting new additions to our collection.

cover image of Brighton

Brighton

Michael Harvey

Kevin Pearce left his hometown of Brighton, a suburb of Boston, at the age of 15, hoping to never return. Twenty-six years later, Kevin is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist for the Boston Globe. He's never been home. Then he learns his old friend Bobby Scales is the prime suspect in a string of local murders. Suddenly, Kevin's headed home to report the story. To protect those he loves, he must face not only an elusive, slippery killer, but his own conscience. A gripping thriller from the author of The Governor's Wife (2015).

cover image of Lily and the Octopus

Lily and the Octopus

Steven Rowley

Fortysomething Ted lives in Los Angeles. Lily is Ted's best friend. She is a 12-year-old dachshund who loves to eat ice cream, play board games, and watch old movies. She also has a brain tumor, which Ted, who refuses to believe Lily is sick, calls the "octopus". Given Lily's age, treatment options are limited, but Ted is determined to fight to the last for his beloved companion. A funny, insightful, and heart-wrenching debut novel for dog lovers everywhere.

cover image of The May Not Mean To, But They Do

The May Not Mean To, But They Do

Cathleen Schine

New Yorker Joy Bergman is not slipping into old age with the quiet grace her children, Molly and Daniel, would prefer. She won't take their advice, especially when it comes to their father, Aaron, who suffers from dementia. When Aaron dies, Molly and Daniel have no shortage of solutions for their mother's loneliness, but there is one challenge they did not count on: the reappearance of an ardent suitor from Joy's college days. They didn't count on Joy suddenly becoming as willful and rebellious as their own kids. A loving look at three generations all coming of age together from the author of Fin & Lady (2013).

cover image of This Is Where You Belong

This Is Where You Belong: The Art and Science of Loving the Place You Live

Melody Warnick

Prompted by a move from Austin, TX to Blacksburg, VA for her husband’s job, journalist Melody Warnick set out to discover how a “place” becomes “home.” Life in a smaller town was supposed to be simpler, but building new friendships and connections in her unfamiliar hometown proved to be challenging. She decided to adopt her latest residence as her permanent home and learn to love it by finding ways to become more involved in her community. Fans of Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project or Eric Weiner’s The Geography of Bliss will enjoy Warnick’s journey.

cover image of The United States of Beer

The United States of Beer: A Regional History of the All-American Drink

Dane Huckelbridge

In The United States of Beer, the author of Bourbon: A History of the American Spirit (2014) charts the surprising history of America’s most popular alcoholic beverage. Hucklebridge shows how beer has evolved from a local and regional product (every American city had its own brewery and iconic beer brand) to the rise of global brands like Budweiser and Miller. From 19th century beer barons like Cincinnati’s Christian Moerlein, Captain Frederick Pabst, Adolphus Busch, and Joseph Schlitz to the craft-brewing revolution of today, The United States of Beer will be a perfect read after a Taste of Cincinnati weekend.

Interested in having these titles emailed to you? If so, sign up for @ the Library, our email newsletter. It is also available as an RSS feed. feed

Recent Hot Titles