New Arrivals · Holiday Materials

November 21, 2014
These titles were recently added to the collection of the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County.

12 days of Christmas with Six Sisters' Stuff : 144 Ideas for traditions, homemade gifts, recipes, and more.

November 20, 2014
©2014
vi, 150 pages : colored illustrations ; 23 cm
Includes index.
Compilation of more than 144 Christmas recipes, traditions, and craft ideas that celebrate family and the holiday.

Thanksgiving

November 13, 2014
Dash, Meredith.
©2015
24 pages : color illustrations ; 24 x 29 cm

The 13th gift : a true story of a Christmas miracle

October 23, 2014
Smith, Joanne Huist.
New York : Harmony Books, 2014.
204 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love. After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children--especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season"-- Provided by publisher.

Christmas all through the South

October 9, 2014
New York, NY : Oxmoor House : Time Home Entertainment, Inc., [2014]
399 pages : color illustrations ; 29 cm
Includes recipe and subject indexes.
Joyful anticipation -- Delightful destinations -- Heartfelt gatherings -- Sparkling celebrations -- Festive recipes.
"The quintessential Southern Christmas experience comes to life on the pages of Christmas All Through the South with delicious recipes, fascinating destinations, elegant decorations, and gracious hospitality. Stunning images and an enchanting narrative bring the beauty and the flavor of the season together."--Jacket flap.

Everything I need to know about Christmas I learned from a little Golden Book

September 8, 2014
Muldrow, Diane, author.
New York : A Golden Book, 2014.
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 22 cm

The Fourth of July encyclopedia

August 11, 2014
Heintze, James R., author.
©2007
vi, 354 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm.
Reprint of the illustated case bound edition first published in 2007.
"This is the first comprehensive reference work on America's Independence Day. Bringing attention to persons, places, and events of historical significance, the book focuses on the Fourth of July as it has been commemorated over the span of more than two centuries, starting with the first celebrations: public readings of the Declaration of Independence"--Provided by publisher.

Peace on earth : a Christmas collection

October 17, 2013
Engelbreit, Mary.
Grand Rapids, Mich. : Zonderkidz, c2013.
1 v. (unpaged) : chiefly col. ill. ; 29 cm.

Chicken soup for the soul : it's Christmas! : 101 joyful stories about the love, fun, and wonder of the holidays

October 14, 2013
Cos Cob, CT : Chicken Soup for the Soul Publishing, ©2013.
ix, 399 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Cinco de Mayo

June 27, 2013
Wade, Mary Dodson.
New York : Children's Press, c2003.
31 p. : col. ill. ; 19 cm.
Introduces young readers to the traditions and festivities of Cinco de Mayo.

Celebrations around the world.

June 18, 2013
Gregory, Helen
North Mankato, MN : Capstone Press, 2013.
20 p. : col. ill. ; 18 cm.
A multicultural look at international holidays.

Emma's Easter

January 18, 2013
Bullard, Lisa.
Minneapolis : Millbrook Press, c2012.
24 p. : col. ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes index.
Getting ready -- Easter morning -- A church holiday -- Where's that egg? -- Make your own Easter flowers.
Explains the significance of the holiday, discussing getting ready for the day, customs, and foods.

The Halloween encyclopedia

March 1, 2012
Morton, Lisa, 1958-
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2011.
vii, 255 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
"Published in 2003, The Halloween Encyclopedia was the first encyclopedic reference on the cultural phenomenon known as Halloween. The book also deals with related holidays. Updated to 2010, this second edition includes more than 50 new entries. Many existing entries have been expanded and revised. Also featured are more than a dozen new illustrations, and an expanded bibliography"--Provided by publisher.
"Published in 2003, The Halloween Encyclopedia was the first encyclopedic reference on the cultural phenomenon known as Halloween. The book also deals with related holidays. Updated to 2010, this second edition includes more than 50 new entries. Many existing entries have been expanded and revised. Also featured are more than a dozen new illustrations, and an expanded bibliography"--Provided by publisher.

feed —Subscribe to the Holiday Materials feed .

Fiction

For Teens

For Kids

Media

Electronic Resources

Foreign

Nonfiction

Large Print