New Arrivals · Holiday Materials

October 9, 2015
These titles were recently added to the collection of the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County.

The Santa Claus man : the rise and fall of a Jazz Age con man and the invention of Christmas in New York

October 8, 2015
Palmer, Alex.
xiii,306 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
The Adventurers' Club -- Appointed rounds -- "To all a good night" -- The most photographed man in the world -- "Enemy, death, and a Christmas tree" -- Cathedrals of commerce -- Child wonderland -- Doors to deception -- Naughty list -- German intrigue -- Poor boy gets nothing -- "Santa Claus as a business man and advertiser" -- Order out of chaos -- Spectacle on 34th Street -- Dead letters -- Epilogue: Operation Santa Claus.

Bulls before breakfast : running with the bulls and celebrating fiesta de San Fermin in Pamplona, Spain

June 30, 2015
Milligan, Peter N.
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2015.
xvii, 298 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : color illustrations, map ; 25 cm
Brazos en Jarra (our Pamplona family) -- Breakfast After Bulls (a perfect day) -- The Running of the Bulls (this is what it is) -- Burnin' Daylight (getting ready for Pamplona) -- Etxea (history of the San Fermín Fiesta) -- Charlie Don't Surf (philosophy of running) -- (Cobblestoned) Street of Dreams (a daily plan) -- The Other 23 Hours and 57 Minutes (what do we do all day) -- A Side Trip into My Blue Heaven (leaving the fiesta behind sometimes) -- The Feria del Toro (the bullfight) -- Dining Like a King (dining in the Basque country) -- A King's Coffee (A separate chapter? Yes, it's that important) -- -- AS-204/Apollo 1 (surviving a serious injury) -- From Here On In It's Frank Sinatra (why we return) -- Let's Agree on Some Terms.
Ever since Ernest Hemingway popularized the fiesta de San Fermín with the publication of The Sun Also Rises in 1926, the world has been enthralled with the concept of running with the bulls. For millions, running with the bulls remains on their bucket list, and for Hemingway fans it is a lifelong dream. For Peter N. Milligan, it is a way of life. Part memoir and part travel guide, Bulls Before Breakfast recounts Milligan's many adventures in Pamplona, Spain. In his dozen years of visiting the fiesta de San Fermín, Milligan has run with the bulls over 70 times and accumulated stories both thrilling and terrifying. Bulls Before Breakfast is the definitive guide to Pamplona, its famed fiesta, and the surrounding Kingdom of Navarra. It is also a memoir of two brothers running with the bulls and exploring every corner of the city, the countryside, the mountains, the beaches, and the famed restaurants of the Basque hinterland. The book focuses on local knowledge, and the hidden mysteries of this closed, private culture and community. Milligan has slowly pried open this trove of secrets over the past twelve years, all while refining the art of getting between the horns of a massive, perfect Spanish killing machine, el toro bravo, and running for his life.

Halloween jack-o'-lanterns

June 16, 2015
Stevens, Kathryn, 1954- author.
Mankato, MN : The Child's World, [2015]
24 pages : color illustrations ; 25 cm.

Charley Harper's A partridge in a pear tree.

April 6, 2015
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 14 x 19 cm
"Never before published, A Partridge in a Pear Tree wasn't intended as a commercial venture. Artist Charley Harper--perhaps with his wife, Edie, also an artist--created the fun little book for his family. A playful riff on the traditional Yuletide carol "The Twelve Days of Christmas," Partridge is the kind of whimsy an artist dashes off while relaxing around the fireplace--and that's the beauty of it. With its pastel sketches and humorous text, this sweet take on a holiday classic provides an intimate look at Harper's fun-loving personality."--Publisher's description.

The origins of Christmas

March 16, 2015
Kelly, Joseph F. (Joseph Francis), 1945-
Collegeville, Minnesota : Liturgical Press, 2014.
xv, 167 pages ; 21 cm
The birth of Jesus -- Creating the Christmas story -- Creating Christmas day and the Christmas season -- Jesus, Mary, the magi, and an obscure Asian bishop -- The popular acceptance of Christmas.
When was Christmas first celebrated? How did December 25 become the date for the feast? How did the Bible's "magi from the East" become three kings named Melchior, Caspar, and Balthasar who rode camels from three different continents to worship the newborn Christ? How did the Feast of the Nativity generate an entire liturgical season from Advent to Candlemas? Why did medieval and Renaissance artists portray Joseph as an old man? When did the first Christmas music appear? And who was the real Saint Nicholas? These and many other questions are answered in this revised and expanded edition of The Origins of Christmas. The story of the origins of Christmas is not well known, but it is a fascinating tale. It begins when the first Christians had little interest in Christ's Nativity, and it finishes when Christmas had become an integral part of Christian life and Western culture.

The old magic of Christmas : yuletide traditions for the darkest days of the year

January 28, 2015
Raedisch, Linda, 1968-
Woodbury : Llewellyn Publications, 2014.
xi, 281 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
A thousand years of winter -- At home with the elves -- Dead by Christmas morning -- Riders on white horses -- Creatures of forest and mountain -- The Scandinavian household sprite -- Reindeer games -- A Christmas bestiary -- Winter's bride -- There are witches in the air -- Dark spirits of hearth and home -- A Christmas witch's herbal.
"Not so very long ago, Yuletide was as much a chilling season of ghosts and witches as it was a festival of goodwill. In The Old Magic of Christmas, you'll rub elbows with veiled spirits, learn the true perils of elves, and discover a bestiary of enchanted creatures. Rife with the more frightful characters from folklore and the season's most petulant ghosts, this book takes you on a spooky sleigh ride from the silvered firs of a winter forest to the mirrored halls of the Snow Queen. Along the way, you'll discover how to bring the festivities into your home with cookie recipes and craft instructions, as well as tips for delving more deeply into your relationship with the unseen"--Page 4 of cover.

Santa Claus is for real : a true Christmas fable about the magic of believing

December 8, 2014
Hall, Charles Edward.
New York : Gallery Books, 2014.
xi, 194 pages ; 19 cm
"A heartwarming true-life fable from the Radio City Christmas Spectacular Santa--including his personal journey of discovering the magic of Christmas"-- Provided by publisher.

12 days of Christmas with Six Sisters' Stuff : 144 Ideas for traditions, homemade gifts, recipes, and more.

November 20, 2014
vi, 150 pages : colored illustrations ; 23 cm
Includes index.
Compilation of more than 144 Christmas recipes, traditions, and craft ideas that celebrate family and the holiday.


November 13, 2014
Dash, Meredith.
24 pages : color illustrations ; 24 x 29 cm

The 13th gift : a true story of a Christmas miracle

October 23, 2014
Smith, Joanne Huist.
New York : Harmony Books, 2014.
204 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love. After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children--especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season"-- Provided by publisher.

Christmas all through the South

October 9, 2014
New York, NY : Oxmoor House : Time Home Entertainment, Inc., [2014]
399 pages : color illustrations ; 29 cm
Includes recipe and subject indexes.
Joyful anticipation -- Delightful destinations -- Heartfelt gatherings -- Sparkling celebrations -- Festive recipes.
"The quintessential Southern Christmas experience comes to life on the pages of Christmas All Through the South with delicious recipes, fascinating destinations, elegant decorations, and gracious hospitality. Stunning images and an enchanting narrative bring the beauty and the flavor of the season together."--Jacket flap.

Everything I need to know about Christmas I learned from a little Golden Book

September 8, 2014
Muldrow, Diane, author.
New York : A Golden Book, 2014.
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 22 cm

The Fourth of July encyclopedia

August 11, 2014
Heintze, James R., author.
vi, 354 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm.
Reprint of the illustated case bound edition first published in 2007.
"This is the first comprehensive reference work on America's Independence Day. Bringing attention to persons, places, and events of historical significance, the book focuses on the Fourth of July as it has been commemorated over the span of more than two centuries, starting with the first celebrations: public readings of the Declaration of Independence"--Provided by publisher.

Peace on earth : a Christmas collection

October 17, 2013
Engelbreit, Mary.
Grand Rapids, Mich. : Zonderkidz, c2013.
1 v. (unpaged) : chiefly col. ill. ; 29 cm.

Chicken soup for the soul : it's Christmas! : 101 joyful stories about the love, fun, and wonder of the holidays

October 14, 2013
Cos Cob, CT : Chicken Soup for the Soul Publishing, ©2013.
ix, 399 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Cinco de Mayo

June 27, 2013
Wade, Mary Dodson.
New York : Children's Press, c2003.
31 p. : col. ill. ; 19 cm.
Introduces young readers to the traditions and festivities of Cinco de Mayo.

Celebrations around the world.

June 18, 2013
Gregory, Helen
North Mankato, MN : Capstone Press, 2013.
20 p. : col. ill. ; 18 cm.
A multicultural look at international holidays.

Emma's Easter

January 18, 2013
Bullard, Lisa.
Minneapolis : Millbrook Press, c2012.
24 p. : col. ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes index.
Getting ready -- Easter morning -- A church holiday -- Where's that egg? -- Make your own Easter flowers.
Explains the significance of the holiday, discussing getting ready for the day, customs, and foods.

The Halloween encyclopedia

March 1, 2012
Morton, Lisa, 1958-
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2011.
vii, 255 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
"Published in 2003, The Halloween Encyclopedia was the first encyclopedic reference on the cultural phenomenon known as Halloween. The book also deals with related holidays. Updated to 2010, this second edition includes more than 50 new entries. Many existing entries have been expanded and revised. Also featured are more than a dozen new illustrations, and an expanded bibliography"--Provided by publisher.
"Published in 2003, The Halloween Encyclopedia was the first encyclopedic reference on the cultural phenomenon known as Halloween. The book also deals with related holidays. Updated to 2010, this second edition includes more than 50 new entries. Many existing entries have been expanded and revised. Also featured are more than a dozen new illustrations, and an expanded bibliography"--Provided by publisher.

feed —Subscribe to the Holiday Materials feed .


For Teens

For Kids


Digital Resources



Large Print